September 18, 2018

Human Rights Commission video, “Still Striving for Equality”


Wednesday, 19 September 2018, 2:11 pm
Press Release: Human Rights Commission


Today the Human Rights Commission premieres its Suffrage 125 video – Still Striving for Equality, which features a former Prime Minister, a former Governor General, and a Supreme Court Judge.

Still Striving for Equality reflects on the gains that women have made in New Zealand since they won the right to vote in 1893. At the same time, it focuses on the serious human rights issues still facing women today – our unprecedented family violence statistics, the gender pay gap and a lack of women in business leadership.

The video features 14 women who have all reached the top of their fields. While each applaud the 19th Century women who worked tirelessly to build support for suffrage, each interviewee also deplores the constant struggle to this day for true equality.

As Dame Sylvia Cartwright, former Governor General and High Court Judge says in the video: “I can’t believe we are still talking about discrimination against women.”

The four-minute video – available on You Tube and the Human Rights Commission website – makes the point that the suffragists of 1893 would be “horrified”, to quote Justice Dame Susan Glazebrook, by the human rights issues faced by women and their families that still exist in New Zealand.

Still Striving for Equality features the following respected, talented and irrepressible women:
Hillary Barry – Broadcast Journalist
Alison Mau – Journalist and Broadcaster
Sina Wendt-Moore – CEO Leadership NZ, Co-President YWCA Aotearoa NZ
Mai Chen – Managing Partner Chen Palmer Partners, Adjunct Professor University of Auckland, Chair NZ Asian Leaders & Superdiversity Centre for Law, Policy & Business, Director BNZ
• The Hon. Dame Silvia Cartwright PCNZM, DBE, QSO – Former Governor- General of New Zealand (2001-2006), first female Chief District Court Judge and High Court Judge
Vanisa Dhiru – National President, National Council of Women New Zealand
• The Honourable Justice (Dame) Susan Glazebrook DNZM – Judge of the Supreme Court
Theresa Gattung CNZM – Leading New Zealand businesswoman, author and philanthropist
Michele A’Court – Comedian, Writer, Social Commentator
Leonie Hayden – Ātea Editor, The Spinoff, Presenter, The Spinoff TV
Lizzie Marvelly – Musician, writer, activist
• The Right Honourable Helen Clark ONZ, SSI, PC – First woman elected New Zealand Prime Minister (1999-2008) and Administrator of the United Nations Development programme (2009- 2017)
• Dr Jackie Blue – Equal Employment Opportunities and Women’s Rights Commissioner, Former MP (2005-2013) and GP
Paula Tesoriero MNZM – Disability Rights and Acting Chief Commissioner, Paralympic Gold Medallist